top of page

Christine Gibbons and the Scratchboard

Art can be many things to many people; an outlet, a form of expression, a time killer, even therapy. I had the chance to ask Christine Gibbons about what her art means to her and how she produces her abstract and fine art. So read on and be sure to check out her Instagram for more work.


- Why don't we start with a little of your background and what creative endeavors you're behind.


I received my Associates Degree from the Fashion Institute of Technology in 1997. I’m currently working on mixed media paper, using sharpie markers to create these optical illusion/abstract types of pieces.




- You seem to be working on different mediums; scratchboards as well as mixed media abstract art. What drew you to these two?


Honestly? I was in Michael’s craft store and was walking down an aisle, looking for watercolor paper and I saw this black board on top of it. I picked it up and held it, knocked on it and just knew I had to buy it. That was back in 2012 and I’ve been a fan ever since.


The mixed media work was started after I had been hospitalized. I had fallen asleep in my bed and woke up to a bag of markers with a sketchbook. A friend of mine had dropped it off. For whatever reason, I decided to start using a protractor to create these images on paper, the optical illusion type ones. Turns out, it’s a nice break for my hands between scratchboards.



- How does one work with scratchboard? Can you tell us about the process behind this?


Like any creative process, you have to experiment. I tried a portrait of Dave Grohl in the beginning and it was SO very hard! The picture was small and I had to enlarge it by drawing it larger and I’m not a portrait artist. Then I did a simple one with just a butterfly and flowers. I drew directly onto the board before scratching. I believe I even did a koi fish that way. Then I jumped to some really intense stuff like snowflakes and they would take me hours and days to do but I was obsessed. Then I decided to branch out and I eventually gave a scratchboard to everyone in my immediate family for their birthday. It wasn’t until about 2013-2014, that I just started getting commissioned to do pieces of people’s deceased or living pets. It was flattering! I would ask people for a picture of their pet and then I would print it out, place it on the board and then I would hold the picture still as I used a blue pen to trace the image onto the board. You have to press pretty hard but you get used to it.



- How do you come up with new ideas or designs (especially with your abstract, geometric patterns)? What would you say your creative process is?


I wish I had a logical formula for this but the more I create, the more inspired I get. The abstract/geometrical ones just seem to appear to me as I’m working on one in front of me. I tend to have tools on my desk as I’m working and those will start to give me ideas as to what to do but I am highly intuitive, so if an idea pops up, I get right to it!

- You mentioned that your artwork helps keep you sane, can you elaborate on this? Does your artwork help you deal with life and the world?


Yes, especially since Covid started. I find that social media isn’t what I need right now and I’d rather keep my thoughts to myself sometimes instead of getting into political arguments. It has also helped me a great deal after having been in a coma in 2015. I’m still recovering six years later but it's so much better than it used to be, and I know I have my artwork to thank for that, especially the optical illusion/geometrical pieces!


- Has art and creativity changed your overall outlook?


Between the scratchboards and the mixed media, I have been able to see that my problem solving skills are better than they used to be. There’s very little room for error on either of these types of mediums. I suffer from Major Depression (my whole life) and I have a Panic Disorder (post 9/11 and the coma). Art helps me to reign it in and refocus my feelings and thoughts. I’m not as hopeless as I used to be.



- With the craziness and social climate today how does art help? Can it help the world?


There's a redundancy in the social climate and if people find themselves constantly exposed to the same super-charged energy of the news of the world, there is going to be a terrible psychological reaction to this. Quiet down your life, put on some music and watch a sitcom and then take some time to look at art online. It’s so accessible and just makes you curious, I would imagine. At least that’s what it does for me!


- Do you think being from NY and particularly Staten Island had a strong influence on you?


New York City definitely had/has a vibe that I can say influenced my approach to scratchboards. I’m inspired by tattoos and often get asked if I’m a tattoo artist and I’m not but that’s flattering. I have my own share of tattoos on me and some of it is traditional and I’d like to throw together some more designs that are “tattoo inspired” this summer.


I found myself inspired by Staten Island for the last handful of years because of the murals that are popping up. I also lived in Philadelphia for a time and found their murals to be priceless sometimes.




- What's next for you? Where do you hope to take your artwork?


What I’d like to do is to start adding watercolor to the optical/geometrical pieces. I feel like I might be able to make it work with scratchboards too but we shall see. The paper will definitely take, I just have to practice.


- How would you pass on the lessons you learned to an aspiring artist?


Mistakes are okay. It’s also okay if you don’t nail it every time. Discipline helps a great deal. I had a lot of artwork under my belt from classes I took. I mentioned adding watercolor paint in that last question but I took a class in Manhattan to learn more about the paint. If your artwork doesn’t start selling right away, be patient and maybe see where you still might need areas to grow.




bottom of page